Back to overview

Forecast et Superforecast

Qu'est-ce que la Forecast (cartes de prévisions) ?

Forecast se fonde sur le modèle GFS. Les prévisions sont disponibles dans le monde entier. La résolution horizontale est d'environ 13 km. Les prévisions sont calculées 4 fois par jour, à environ 5h, 11h, 17h et 23h UTC. Les prévisions sont disponibles en pas de temps de 3 heures jusqu'à 10 jours après.

Qu'est-ce que la Superforecast ?

Superforecast Europe se fonde sur les dernières versions de modèles régionaux de prévisions météo. Superforecast est actuellement disponible pour l'Europe dans une résolution horizontale de 7 kilomètres en pas de temps horaire. Les prévisions sont générées quatre fois par jour, à environ 2h, 8h, 14h et 20h UTC. Il n'y a pas de délai, toutes les valeurs sont présentées dès qu'elles sont disponibles sur nos ordinateurs. Superforecast Amérique du Nord a une résolution horizontale de 5 kilomètres en pas de temps horaires. Les prévisions sont générées à environ 3:30h, 9:30h, 16:30h et 22:30h UTC.
SuperForecast Égypte utilise une résolution de 7km en pas de temps horaires. Les prévisions sont mises à jour à environ 3:30h, 9:30h, 15:30h et 21:30h UTC.
SuperForecast Afrique du Sud utilise une résolution de 5km en pas de temps horaires. Les prévisions sont mises à jour à environ 3h, 9h, 15h et 21h UTC.
SuperForecast îles Canaries utilise une résolution de 5km en pas de temps horaires. Les prévisions sont mises à jour à environ 3:15h, 9:15h, 15:15h et 21:15h UTC.

Pourquoi les prévisions sont-elles parfois inexactes ?

Nous nous efforçons toujours de fournir les meilleures prévisions. Malheureusement, les prévisions concernant certains endroits et certaines directions de vent ne sont pas toujours optimales. Il existe des influences locales et thermiques sur ces spots qui sont très difficiles à prévoir. Si vous surfez depuis plusieurs années sur votre spot local, vous connaissez ces particularités. Mais nous travaillons déjà sur ce problème.
Il est également possible que la situation météorologique générale soit si instable que tous les modèles de prévision numérique météorologiques ne permettent pas de prévoir précisément l'évolution de la situation météorologique. Le chemin d'accès des systèmes de pression (haute / basse pression) est essentiel pour les conditions de vent. Le calcul de ce chemin peut faire erreur en cas de situations météorologiques instables.
En outre, la qualité de prévision diminue avec des horizons de prévisions plus longs (par exemple 3 jours ou plus). Ceci est un problème général avec les modèles de prévision météorologique.

Pourquoi y a-t-il des valeurs différentes pour les prévisions (Forecast) et la Superforecast ?

Forecast et Superforecast sont fondés sur différents modèles physiques capables de prédire la dynamique météorologique de différentes manières, ce qui se traduit par des prévisions de vent distinctes. Des valeurs différentes témoignent également de la stabilité de la situation météorologique générale.

Quel est le meilleur modèle, Forecast ou Superforecast ?

En raison de la meilleure résolution horizontale du modèle physique plus avancé et d'un modèle d terrain plus détaillé, il convient d'opter pour la Superforecast. En outre, toutes les valeurs prévues sont disponibles en pas de temps horaire.
En général, il faut rechercher quel modèle de prévision est le plus adapté à votre spot local. Pour certains spots ce sera la Superforecast, pour d'autres ce pourra également être la Forecast.

Pour quelle hauteur les prévisions météo sont-elles valables ?

Les prévisions du spot/de l'emplacement et les cartes de prévisions indiquent la vitesse et la direction du vent à 10 mètres du sol, la température de l'air et l'humidité relative à 2 mètres du sol et tous les autres paramètres au niveau du sol.

Comment dois-je interpréter les flèches de direction du vent ?

Les flèches sont alignées avec la direction du courant du vent. Exemple : un vent du nord (un vent qui vient du nord, soufflant vers le sud) est indiqué par une flèche pointant vers le bas/sud.

Les directions du vent sont-elles données en degrés réels ou magnétiques ?

Les prévisions de directions du vent utilisent le nord réel comme référence.

Comment calculer les rafales ?

Les rafales de vent sont calculées par nos modèles de prévision. Les valeurs prévues correspondent à des rafales de vent maximale à un moment donné.

Comment calculez-vous la pression atmosphérique?

La pression de l'air est mesurée au niveau de l'altitude de la station météorologique. La pression de l'air prévue est calculée pour l'altitude du site.

Comment dois-je interpréter les valeurs des précipitations ?

Les précipitations sont indiquées sous forme de quantité sur une période donnée. La quantité de précipitations est cumulée sur toute la période avant que l'heure de la prévision soit validée. La longueur de la période dépend du modèle de prévision utilisé (Forecast ou Superforecast).

Qu'est-ce que la barre colorée au-dessus des prévisions ?

C'est Windfinder Windpreview. Cet outil vous permet de visualiser rapidement les prévisions actuelles du vent. Les couleurs et hauteurs de la barre correspondent à la vitesse prévue du vent – cela vous permet de visualiser rapidement les jours avec une vitesse de vent élevée ou faible. Cliquez sur l'un des jours pour voir les prévisions détaillées.

Quelle est la signification des couleurs ?

Les couleurs indiquent la vitesse du vent. Voici l'échelle de vitesse du vent utilisée (toutes les valeurs sont données en nœuds):

  • 0
  • 2
  • 4
  • 6
  • 8
  • 10
  • 12
  • 14
  • 16
  • 18
  • 20
  • 22
  • 24
  • 26
  • 28
  • 30
  • 32
  • 34
  • 36
  • 38
  • 40
  • 42
  • 44
  • 46
  • 48
  • 50
  • > 50

Que sont les prévisions de vagues ?

Our global wave forecasts are computed with the global wave forecast model WW3 run by the American Weather Service NOAA. Wave forecasts for the Great Lakes region are also provided by NOAA. Wave forecasts for the Mediterranean Sea and Baltic Sea are based on EWAM, a regional high-resolution model run by Deutscher Wetterdienst (DWD). Les valeurs de vagues prévues ne fournissent qu'une estimation sur les vagues attendues. Les conditions locales sur les plages peuvent modifier ces valeurs.

Pourquoi n'y a-t-il pas de prévisions de vagues pour mon emplacement ?

Les prévisions de vagues sont disponibles uniquement pour les endroits situés sur la côte océanique.

What are the predicted wave parameters?

For wave height, we're showing the significant wave height of combined wind waves and swell. Wave direction is primary wave direction, and for period we're showing the primary wave mean direction, respectively.

Les horodatages sont-ils exprimés en heure locale ou UTC ?

Toutes les valeurs de date et d'heure sont exprimées dans l'heure locale de la station météo.

Archivez-vous les prévisions ?

Nous n'archivons pas les données de prévision brutes, nous archivons uniquement les mesures de nos stations météo. Pour recevoir des données météo antérieures, consultez notre page de demande de données météo historiques.

Les prévisions ne se mettent pas à jour !

Si les données météo ne se mettent pas à jour, veuillez cliquer sur le bouton « Actualiser » de votre navigateur. Si le problème persiste, appuyez sur la touche « shift » de votre clavier et maintenez-la enfoncée, puis cliquez sur le bouton « Actualiser » de votre navigateur. Vous pouvez également essayer de vider le cache du navigateur.

Back to overview

Forecast and Superforecast

What is the Forecast?

The Forecast is based on the GFS model. Forecasts are available worldwide. The horizontal resolution is about 13 km. Forecasts are computed 4 times a day, at about 5h, 11h, 17h and 23h UTC. Predictions are available in time steps of 3 hours for up to 10 days into the future.

What is the Superforecast?

The Superforecast for Europe is based on the newest versions of regional weather prediction models. At the moment the Superforecast is available for Europe in a horizontal resolution of 7 kilometers in hourly timesteps. The forecasts are generated four times a day, at about 2h, 8h, 14h and 20h UTC. There is no time delay, all values are presented as they become available from our computers. The Superforecast for Northern America covers North America with a horizontal resolution of 5 kilometers in hourly timesteps. Forecasts are generated at about 3:30h, 9:30h, 16:30h and 22:30h UTC.
The Superforecast for Egypt uses a 7km resolution in hourly timesteps. The forecast are updated at about 3:30h, 9:30h, 15:30h and 21:30h UTC.
The Superforecast for South Africa uses a 5km resolution in hourly timesteps. The forecast are updated at about 3h, 9h, 15h and 21h UTC.
The Superforecast for the Canary Islands uses a 5km resolution in hourly timesteps. The forecast are updated at about 3:15h, 9:15h, 15:15h and 21:15h UTC.

Why are the forecasts sometimes inaccurate?

We always want to present you the best forecasts. Unfortunately, the forecasts for some spots and some wind directions are not as good as we want them to be. There are local effects and thermal influences at these spots, which are very hard to predict. If you surf for many years at your local spot you may know these peculiarities. But we are already working on this problem.
It is also possible that the general weather situation is very unstable, so that all numerical weather prediction models have problems forecasting the development of the weather situation. The path of pressure systems (high / low pressure) is crucial for the wind conditions. The computation of this path can be wrong if there are unstable weather situations.
Further the forecast quality declines with longer forecast horizons (e.g. 3 days or longer). This is a general problem with weather prediction models.

Why are there different values for Forecast and Superforecast?

Forecast and Superforecast are based on different physical models. These models may predict the weather dynamics in different ways which results in different wind forecasts. Different values are a sign for the stability of the general weather situation.

For which height is the weather predicted?

In the spot/location forecast and on the forecast maps the wind speed and direction is predicted for 10 meters above ground. Air temperature and relative humidity is predicted for 2 meters above ground and all the other parameters are predicted for ground level.

How should I interpret the wind direction arrows?

The arrows are aligned with the wind stream direction. Example: a northerly wind (e.g. a wind that is coming from the north, blowing to the south) is indicated with an arrow pointing downward.

Are predicted wind directions given in true or magnetic degrees?

Predicted wind directions use true north as the reference.

Which one is better, Forecast or Superforecast?

Because of the better horizontal resolution, a more advanced physical model and a more detailed terrain model the Superforecast should be preferred. In addition, all predicted values are available in hourly timesteps.
In general, you have to look for your local spot which forecast model works better for you. For some spots this will be the Superforecast, for others this may also be the Forecast.

How do you compute wind gust?

The wind gusts are computed by our forecast models. The forecasted values correspond to the maximum wind gusts at the given time.

How do you compute air pressure?

The air pressure is measured at the elevation of the weather station. The forecasted air pressure is calculated for the elevation of the location.

How should I interpret the precipitation values?

The precipitation is given in an amount per time span. The precipitation amount is accumulated in the time span before the forecast time is valid. The time span length depends on the used forecast model (Forecast or Superforecast).

What is the colored bar above the forecasts?

This is the Windfinder Windpreview. This tool allows you to view the current wind forecast at a glance. The colors and bar heights correspond to the forecasted wind speed - this allows you to quickly see days with high or low wind speeds. Click on one of the days to see the detailed forecast for the selected day.

What is the meaning of the colors?

The colors indicate the wind speed. Here is the used wind speed scale (all values are given in Knots):

  • 0
  • 2
  • 4
  • 6
  • 8
  • 10
  • 12
  • 14
  • 16
  • 18
  • 20
  • 22
  • 24
  • 26
  • 28
  • 30
  • 32
  • 34
  • 36
  • 38
  • 40
  • 42
  • 44
  • 46
  • 48
  • 50
  • > 50

What are the wave forecasts?

The wave forecasts are computed with the global wave forecast model WW3 run by the American Weather Service NOAA. The forecasted wave values only give an estimation about the expected waves. Local conditions at the beaches can modify these values.
The wave forecast for the Mediterranean and Baltic sea is a regional high-resolution WW3 model run by the Fleet Numerical Meteorology and Oceanography Center (FNMOC). The forecasted wave values only give an estimation about the expected waves. Local conditions at the beaches can modify these values.

Why are there no wave forecasts available for my location?

Wave forecasts are available only for locations on the open oceanic coast.

Are the timestamps in local or UTC time?

All date and time values are in local time of the weather station.

Do you archive forecasts?

We do not archive raw forecast data, we only archive measurements from our weather stations. If you want to receive past weather data, have a look at our historical weather data request page.

The forecasts do not update!

If the weather data does not update please click on the "Reload" button of your browser. If that does not help press and hold the "shift" key on your keyboard and click on the "Reload" button of your browser. You can also try to clear the browser cache.